To reduce the chances of cheating and allow teachers to gain more control of their classroom setup, Classtime has implemented the new feature of Classes on Premium. Classes is a convenient way for teachers with one or multiple classes to organize their Classtime sessions, while also blocking users outside of their classes to join. Now, once a Class is created, teachers can start a session with their whole class. Students can simply verify their identity by accepting their teacher’s invitation to a Class via link sent through their email.
Students no longer have to input a session code but can join by following a link through their verified email. After a teacher starts a session, every student in a Class will automatically be added. This allows teachers to see who is present in their class and is participating in their specific session and who isn’t. By grouping their students in separate Classes, teachers can gain valuable insight into individual class performance over the time of a school year.
Before Classes, students could join sessions anonymously, leaving inappropriate messages or cheating through the use of private emails. For this reason, teachers would be frustrated that they could not track anonymous answers to specific students. Classtime CEO US Valentin Ruest says, “All these problems are now gone with Classes, where only invited students will be able to access a class.” Guests outside of a class will only be added to a session if a teacher turns on a setting allowing them to join before a session begins.